Update! Back Home

It’s been a while since I’ve posted (sorry!) so I thought I’d just fill in on what I’ve been up to! I’ve just finished my second year at uni and moved back to my hometown! It’s been a busy couple weeks with the exams, saying goodbye to all my friends, packing and moving everything back home. I’ve also been working, so you can see why I’ve not been posting. I recently dyed my hair blonde (more on that later) and yesterday I voted for the first time! (more on that later too)

Coming back home has shown me how much I’m ready to leave it. I don’t want to spend the rest of my life in this little hometown. I am not proud to be from where I’m from. There’s nothing here for anyone, I know I should feel a sense of pride for this place and want to help in making it better, but instead I dream of the day when I can run away and never look back. Of course, all my family is here, so I’ll always be back. I’ll never live here though, I’ll never settle down here. Living in the city has been a wonderful experience, one that I cannot wait to get back to. It’s awe inspiring to live in a place full of life and opportunity. There’s a constant buzz in the city, and there’s hope, too. Which isn’t something you get a lot of here. Ahh, September can’t come quick enough!

Zara x

3 thoughts on “Update! Back Home

Leave a comment